Taking the Dive

Dumpster Divers. One hears of these rebellious, bizarre and possibly smelly creatures but do they really exist? If one, for instance, hangs out behind the shops will one catch a diver with body precariously slung over the side of one of those enormous metal receptacles, feet flailing in air? How hungry can they be, one may wonder, eating people’s rubbish like that? How does one even bring one’s self to eat rotting food??

But when I first heard of this I imagined something quite different and it all sounded rather appealing, verging on genius. I was very eager to give it a go. My only issue was I wasn’t quite sure how it all worked. There must be some sort of strategy. So what I was in need of was a real-life, practicing diver. Yet this too, was an obstacle as I knew of none nor had I ever knowingly met one.

But the fortuitous day came when I crossed paths with A (an old hand, as it turns out) and the fun that soon ensued, along with the abundance of goodies, was welcomed giddily by the likes of me.

It’s not at all what you’d think. Actually in the end, I felt like we were doing the world a favor. Up until this jaunt to the large blue bin I was aware that waste was an issue but I was taken aback by the face-to-face encounter with it under lamplight. The quantity and quality of the goods that were waiting for us was mind-blowing. How is it that all these perfectly edible, even salable items were put here to await their fate in a landfill?

That first night the young and poor-ish likes of us were pleased to find the ‘spoils’ of capitalism waiting for us there in that large metal box. We were smiled upon by the free food deities and returned home with a car filled to the gunnels with foodstuffs– I jest not.

On an average stop at one, maybe two dumpsters, I can easily take away two large boxes full of prizes. Diving doesn’t necessarily provide for a balanced diet but for the most part it’s clean, within the expiry date and, if you stop by on a good day, fresh.
 

Now, I have somewhat of a penchant for collecting and finding uses for other people’s discards. I believe I owe that to years of training by my grandmother and mother; my grandmother is the queen of “dutch tupperware”, which I was responsible for maintaining and gathering, while in my earlier days I could be found in the bottom of sidewalk, construction-type dumpsters pulling out bolts of fabric as my mother sifted though the collection of stuff at the other end. We still can’t help but stop to check out the bits and pieces that can be found curbside in American suburbs. Not too long ago we found a little chest that was in perfectly good condition, just in need of a fresh coat of paint.

This sort of recycling is more of a habit than something you just pick up. You can get ideas from other people, like with most things, but in my experience the best finds are the odd ones when you had no intent of searching through other people’s rubbish. Instead, happenstance found you stumbling across a perfectly usable orange belt while out walking the dog.

Also, you have to know food a bit better than the average consumer. You have to understand expiration dates are set because of laws, not because of some divine biological clock. Think of them more as a rough guideline. And that bag of potatoes that looks fine? It is fine. There may just be one spud in there that’s already well on it’s way to becoming starch snot.

Ever since that first trip, I’ve found all manner of produce: lovely, exotic fruits which you don’t have to feel guilty about purchasing (ex. pineapples, mangos, avocados, kiwis) as well as vegetables, leaves and roots. But it’s not just produce that awaits rescuing; I’ve found baked goods ranging from cakes to bagels, all sorts of cereals, rice, cookies,  and chips. Even fun, seasonal items like pumpkin cream cheese and caramel apples.

If you get the chance, take the dive yourself. In the spirit of reusing, recycling and good husbandry of the earth, at least give it a go. Dumpster diving makes for a great past time for those of us low on funds, too. You’ll be surprised how fun and rewarding it can be.

If you’re new to the ways of diving, please bring a friend along for practical reasons (it allows for a more graceful dismount of the taller dumpsters and your finds won’t get battered). Company also makes for a good laugh later while reminiscing about the more exciting outings.

After a rainy, night dive

If you’d like to see what some expert garbage sifters find (focused on things rather than food) take a gander at this blog: Dumpster Diver. Fascinating stuff.

3 thoughts on “Taking the Dive

  1. I love this idea! When I was in Denmark recently I was totally shocked to see perfectly good bell peppers thrown in the trash at the back of a supermarket. I was with my boss and the time and didn’t want to dive in, but if I had been on my own I would have dived straight in and rescued them all! My husband actually used to make a living this way, collecting discarded furniture and selling it at used furniture markets. Far too much stuff needlessly goes to landfill, so here’s to Dumpster Diving!

Leave a comment